Bergen Harbour by Night

I appreciate the value of tripods, I just don’t like to drag my (at least) 2.5 kg one around too much. Also, I find that some of the immediacy and spontaneity of many photos disappear, if that is what one looks for. So the other night I had a small tour around Bergen harbour (“Vågen” in Norwegian”) to see what I could do with the equipment I had and the support I could find.

Kveld ved Vågen-26412

Across the water towards “Bryggen” (“The Wharf” – on UNESCO’s World Heritage List). The blue light is from a passing ambulance.
1/25 sec, f/2.8,ISO 4000

Kveld ved Vågen-26451

Towards “Torget” (“The Market”). The lights at the top right and left are from the tops of two of the seven mountains surrounding the central part of Bergen.
1/20sec, f/2.8, ISO 6400

Kveld ved Vågen-26525

Strange bedfellows – modern oil-related ships and a medieval fortress (“Bergenhus”)
0.3 sec, f/2.8, ISO 1600

Kveld ved Vågen-26463

A couple of girls waiting for one of the coastal catamarans.
1/20 sec, f/2.8, ISO 2500

Kveld ved Vågen-26495

If you get hungry, thirsty or want a party – that can be arranged, too.
1/40 sec, f/2.8, ISO 3200

Kveld ved Vågen-26482

Or you can find a quiet little nook where you can study the reflection of a quayside shopping mall and its Christmas decoration.
1/8 sec, f/3.5, ISO 3200

I admit that a tripod would have been better, but my shoulder would have been sorer …

36 thoughts on “Bergen Harbour by Night

  1. Oh, what terrific, colorful night shots, Rune!! Thanks for sharing, as always! Hope your week is off to great start! Enjoy!!

    Like

  2. “Woaw! ” is what comes first to my mind! You could use each of those pictures as Christmas cards , they’re sooo beautiful !! I also enjoy seeing those reflections , so impressive ..

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your first photo has a storybook look with the shape of the peaked roofs and the reflecting colors. What a beautiful set of photos. I know what you mean about lugging along a tripod — takes too long to set up for the shot you want and also heavy to carry around. You captured beautiful shots using your steady hands. — barbara

    Like

  4. Great captures and I’m stunned to see those long times as 0,3 and 1/8 sec and sky rocketing ISO values such as 6400. With my camera the photos are unacceptable with any ISO above 400, investment in photo equipment pays off… obviously. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thank you to repeat myself living and night this beautiful port of this city that I visited it 20 years ago !! beautiful pictures, congratulations for the reflections

    Like

  6. Some great night shots. I agree with you about tripods, though I quite often take a monopod or even a tiny tripod with me.

    Like

  7. Ååå,- som jeg savner “byen min” når jeg ser disse kjente og kjære traktene! Og denne flotte serien minner meg på at nå må jeg snart forsøke noen bilder i natten jeg, også… er tredje vinteren jeg tenker dette, bare…… flotte farger og refleksjoner, Rune!
    🙂

    Like

  8. Hei igjen. Måtte innom å sjekke posten din en gang til. Ser infoen over første bilde nå…
    Utmerket resultat, – lite støy gode farger, – flott fotojobb!

    Jeg har kjøpt meg en monopod – Gitzo (192 i maxlengde), veier 600gram, og tåler 18kg! – tar 600mm uten problem! Meget enkel å ha med seg, – kun 54 cm sammenslått.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hans – takk skal du ha 🙂
      Jeg har en Manfrotto monopod i tillegg til et av deres store (og tunge), burde nok bruke begge mer. Men så er det det med fleksibiliteten når man går rundt i byen …

      Like

    • Thank you, a tripod would have made it possible to use a lower ISO and thus I would have got less noise. Much more visible in the original sizes.

      Like

  9. This is a stunning series, Rune. You’ve captured each scene so well, and they all look sharp enough to me. (I also feel the same as you about tripods.)

    I would love to get to Norway sometime, as well as to the other countries in your region. My interest. I’ve had a longstanding interest in this from the photos I’ve seen, and what I’ve read about the lifestyle.

    Like

Leave a Reply

